Happy Birthday Bob Marley

Born on this day in 1945, Bob Marley is undoubtedly one of the world’s most influential musicians. Here are my ten favorite Bob Marley tunes. Happy Birthday Bob πŸ™‚ We will forever know your name and value your legacy.

Bob-Marley-10

ZimbabweΒ 

Every man gotta right to decide his own destiny,
And in this judgement there is no partiality.
So arm in arms, with arms, we’ll fight this little struggle,
‘Cause that’s the only way we can overcome our little trouble

Kinky Reggae

I went downtown, (I went downtown)
I saw Miss Brown; (said, I saw Miss Brown)
She had brown sugar (had brown sugar)
All over her booga-wooga. (over her booga-wooga)

I think I might join the fun, (I might join the fun)
But I had to hit and run. (had to hit and run)
See I just can’t settle down (just can’t settle down)
In a kinky part of town.

Mellow Mood

I’ll play your fav’rite song, darlin’.
We can rock it all night long, darlin’.
‘Cause I’ve got love, darlin’,
Love, sweet love, darlin’.
Mellow mood has got me,
So let the music rock me.’Cause I’ve got love, darlin’.
Love, sweet love, darlin’.

Redemption Song

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery;
None but ourselves can free our minds.
Have no fear for atomic energy,
‘Cause none of them can stop the time.
How long shall they kill our prophets,
While we stand aside and look? Ooh!
Some say it’s just a part of it:
We’ve got to fulfil de book.

Won’t you help to sing
These songs of freedom? –
‘Cause all I ever have:
Redemption songs

Pimper’s Paradise

She love to party, have a good time;
She looks so hearty, feeling fine;
She loves to smoke, sometime shiftin’ coke;
She’ll be laughin’ when there ain’t no joke.

A pimper’s paradise: that’s all she was now;
A pimper’s paradise: that’s all she was;
A pimper’s paradise: that’s all she was now;
Pimper’s paradise: that’s all she was.
(Every need got an ego to feed;
Every need got an ego to feed.)

Turn Your Lights Down Low

Turn your lights down low;
Never try to resist, oh no!
Oh, let my love come tumbling in –
Into our life again,
Sayin’: ooh, I love ya!
And I want you to know right now,
I love ya!
And I want you to know right now,
‘Cause I – that I –
I want to give you some love, oh-ooh!
I want to give you some good, good lovin’;
Oh, I – I want to give you some love;
Sayin’ I want to give you some good, good lovin’

No Woman No CryΒ 

I remember when a we used to sit
In a government yard in Trenchtown,
Observing the hypocrites
As they you mingle with the good people we meet
Good friends we have, oh, good friends we have lost
Along the way
In this great future, you can’t forget your past;
So dry your tears, I say

Waiting In VainΒ 

I don’t wanna wait in vain for your love;
I don’t wanna wait in vain for your love.
From the very first time I rest my eyes on you, girl,
My heart says follow t’rough.
But I know, now, that I’m way down on your line,
But the waitin’ feel is fine:
So don’t treat me like a puppet on a string,
‘Cause I know I have to do my thing.
Don’t talk to me as if you think I’m dumb;
I wanna know when you’re gonna come – soon.

Who The Cap FitΒ 

Some will hate you, pretend they love you now,
Then behind they try to eliminate you.
But who Jah bless, no one curse;
Thank God, we’re past the worse.
Hypocrites and parasites
Will come up and take a bite.
And if your night should turn to day,
A lot of people would run away.
And who the stock fit let them wear it!
Who the (cap fit) let them (wear it)!

Is This Love

I wanna love you and treat you right;
I wanna love you every day and every night:
We’ll be together with a roof right over our heads;
We’ll share the shelter of my single bed;
We’ll share the same room, yeah! – for Jah provide the bread.
Is this love – is this love – is this love –
Is this love that I’m feelin’?
Is this love – is this love – is this love –
Is this love that I’m feelin’?
I wanna know – wanna know – wanna know now!
I got to know – got to know – got to know now!

Leave a Reply

